Journey – A few quick thoughts

It’s taken me a while to get around to playing Journey. I’m not sure why this is, as I awaited its release with a great deal of anticipation, fully expecting to love it, and Flower, its spiritual predecessor, is one of my most cherished gaming experiences ever. However something didn’t click when I first loaded up the game, maybe I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind? It’s hard to say. I have played it now though, I sat down and went through it in one sitting the other night, and for what it’s worth I really enjoyed the experience. It was a bit of a puzzler though, I didn’t get it immediately the way I did with Flower, nor did it speak to me as directly. Even now after finishing the game, I’m not really sure what I got out of it. I’m still not sure what the journey was about. Of course in simple terms a journey should be about the journey, and in some respects perhaps I’m thinking too much about it. One of my favourite poems is ‘Ithaca’ by Cavafy which ends with the lines:

Keep Ithaca always in your mind.

Arriving there is what your are destined for.

But don’t hurry the journey at all.

Better if it lasts for years,

So you’re old by the time you reach the island,

Wealthy with all you’ve gained on the way,

Not expecting Ithaca to make you rich.

Ithaca gave you the marvellous journey.

Without her you wouldn’t have set out.

She has nothing left to give you now.

And if you find her poor, Ithaca won’t have fooled you.

Wise as you will have become, so full of experience,

You’ll have understood by then what Ithacas mean.

Which I think says it much better than I ever could. I think the mistake I made with Journey was being selfish and playing it offline, playing on my own made me miss out on what this journey truly had to offer, which was to travel with another soul and experience the journey through their eyes too, to see them react to the world and to their place in it, as well as my own. Thinking about it now… I definitely need another playthrough!

~ by metafur on June 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
