Tears in Rain – Random Musings on Blade Runner

I found myself watching Blade Runner last night, after all this time this scene still resonates, it really is something special.

I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe.
Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion.
I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate.
All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.
Time… to die.

One of the most famous scenes in cinema right? But I think really captures the tragedy of human existance. We’ve all seen attack ship on fire off the shoulder of Orion, and watched C-beams glitter. Whether that was seeing your baby boy for the first time, or the way that girl looked at you across a noisy bar, even that warm glow you got inside after eating an especially good piece of cheese on toast. Then, when we pass, they’re gone… lost in time, like tears in rain. Imagine all those lost moments stretching back over time, billions of stories over thousands of year. Imagine all we could have learned from them, because that right there is our real history. When Goethe says something like ‘He who cannot draw on three thousand years of history is living from hand to mouth.’ He’s not really talking about the great battles of tyrants and madmen, but all those lost lives and loves, hopes and fears. Well actually… maybe he is talking about tyrants and madmen… I never knew the guy… but was does he know? I’m telling you different!

So next time you feel like giving your friend a lecture about wasting their time sitting in front of the telebox watching reality TV or discussing X-factor like it’s something really important, just remember that to them it is. Don’t judge them for it, don’t try to change them. They just like different stories, see different starships. Acceptance and tolerance begins right there. All our lives are tears in rain, the real trick is to capture those tears and to crystalize them, to take them into your heart and turn them into jewels. Pass your stories on! I don’t know whether God exists, or whether there is some golden afterlife waiting for us when that final sleep falls upon us, but that’s immortality right there, a way we can all live on and maybe teach something to those that come after… or at least make them smile.

~ by metafur on November 30, 2011.

2 Responses to “Tears in Rain – Random Musings on Blade Runner”

  1. Great stuff. Your right we all have things that we value and treasure that others might not appreciate.

    Funny that quote also got me back into EVE online and I am very much enjoying it again. I think the break done me good and I can appreciate it more.

    • I have to say EVE online looks very tempting Dan, especially when reading your blog entries. I’m really enjoying X3: Terran Conflict when I get some time on it, and yeah, sometimes after a particularly awesome battle in an especially beautiful solar system I do get a little ‘I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe…’

Leave a Reply

 
