Top Five ~ Gaming Intros

It’s been a while since I’ve done a top five – and seeing as they are one of the few things I post that get some nice feedback I thought I’d do another one. This time my top five gaming intros. We all have games that got us all worked up even before we picked up the control pad – so here are mine!

5 – Marvel Ultimate Alliance

This game has never been considered a classic, and rightly so I guess, it’s neither deep, groundbreaking, nor especially memorable… it is however a lot of fun. This intro captures that perfectly, it got me pumped up anyway. I have a soft spot for it, and so it find it’s way onto my list at number five!

4 – GTA III

Okay so this game is considered a classic, but you may be surprised to see the intro on this list. I have to say though that I think it’s a cracker, and the music is fantastic. I played GTA III a lot back in the day, and this intro never fails to bring it back!

3 – Silent Hill

Anybody who played this game is going to have some pretty big memories of it, and many are the stories I’ve heard of people quitting the game after being unable to get passed ‘that opening part’. Truly an awesome game that took survival horror to another level. And while it could be argued that Silent Hill 2 is the true masterpiece of the series – it never had a kick arse intro like this one did. The music is just beautiful!

2 – Metal Gear Solid 2

I think it’s safe to say you can’t have a top five gaming list without Metal Gear Solid appearing somewhere in it. Personally this is one of my favourite openings ever… for a number of reasons. Harry Gregson Williams’ score to this game is probably the best gaming score ever, and that coupled with the anticiption I had for this title, make the moment I sat down and saw this something really special. It really could have been number one, but no… it just gets pipped!

1 – Final Fantasy VIII

Not my favourite Final Fantasy if I’m honest, that honour goes to FFVII, but this intro wins out because it’s just so damned awesome! Seeing this for the first time just blew me away, it was something I could proudly show to non-gaming friends and say ‘Look! I was right about gaming! It is a new art form!’ Okay that’s not strictly true – all my friends are gamers! But I would totally have said that if they weren’t! Let’s remember this was from the PS1! For it’s time it was really something else, and thanks to the music it still stands on it’s own as a thing of beauty today! Ladies and gentleman I give you Final Fantasy VIII!

~ by metafur on July 16, 2011.

2 Responses to “Top Five ~ Gaming Intros”

  1. Nice one mate I enjoyed that.

  2. Nice one mate really enjoyed that

Leave a Reply

 
