More Chess Goodness – A lesson learned.

I learnt my first lesson today. Strangely not by reading a book, but by studying an opening I was playing. In a game on Chess.com I came up against The King’s Gambit (1. e4 e5 2. f4) which is something I’ve never played against before though I’m familiar with the basic concept (the really basic concept!) anyway while in the process of researching the opening I found some new ideas, as well as a quote from Bobby Fischer: “The refutation of any gambit begins with accepting it.”

Now I passed that off as a bit of Jedi double-speak, I knew I didn’t want to accept the gambit as it is offered, so I just continued with a classic King’s Gambit Declined (2. … Bc5) and I’m regretting it now. I’m not in a bad position by any means, but I wish I took the gambit so that at some point I could give the back the pawn white offers up on my own terms. As it stands now I don’t feel like I’m learning anything about the King’s Gambit at all. We are already playing in unfamiliar territory, and while that in itself is a good thing, I wish I’d listened to Bobby!

~ by metafur on May 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
