Chess and other goodness!

I’ve just received a nice thick parcel of books from Amazon, and as always have gotten unduly excited!

I ordered four books. The first, Temeraire by Naomi Novik, is the opening book in a fantasy series set during the Napoleonic Wars. Dragons vs Dragoons? Yes please! The series caught my eye as I was browsing in Waterstones last week, but typically they had no copies of the first novel and multiple copies of the rest. Amazon to the rescue!

I also ordered three chess books, as I’m at the point now where I need to start studying if I’m going to progress any further as a player. My new guides into the byzantine world of chess?  The Complete Book of Chess Strategy by Jeremy Silman, Winning Chess Tactics by Yasser Seirawan, and My System by the legendary Aron Nimzowitsch. The first two are aimed at my level as a player, and both figured highly on the various ‘Top Ten Chess Books’ lists I referenced in search of the best purchases. The Third My System, is a chess classic written in 1925 by a legendary master and is a massively important book.

I’m really looking forward to reading My System, though I have a feeling the ideas in it are going to be a bit beyond me at the moment. So I’m planning on reading that one last, after the other two have pumped me full of chess power, or such is the plan. I loved this from the preface though: ‘…let me assure you, my dear reader, that for me the passed pawn possesses a soul, just like a human being; it has unrecognised desires which slumber deep inside it and it has fears, the very existence of which it can but scarcely divine.

You see my friends: Chess, not football, is the beautiful game!

~ by metafur on March 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
