Dragon Age: and the great gaming push!

I’m a massive fan of RPG games – and have a special fondness for Bioware offerings. Going right back to Baldur’s Gate I & II, Fallout 2, and Planescape: Torment. (All published by Bioware – though created by Black Isle I think?)

However Dragon Age is a game that kind of passed me by. I started it, got a decent way into it… and then got distracted by something shiny and new. With the imminent release of Dragon Age 2 though I find myself in the position of having to get through 80+ hours of gaming in the space of a couple of weeks, because foolishly I traded up to the Ultimate Edition, which has a ton of bonus content – including the Awakenings add on (itself something of a monster).

So how am I doing? I’m probably a third of the way through the original game, and really enjoying it. I’m not sure how I was tempted away from the game in the first place. Sure, the graphics are ropey, and the combat system is not exactly stunning, but the game has something. The characters are engaging, the story keeps you enthralled, and dammit if I don’t want to save this stupid world from itself. I must be leading the most disfunctional party in the history of RPGing, with Alistair: the bumbling warrior, Morrigan: the cold-hearted, sarcastic witch, and Leliana: the sweet, but possibly insane bard. Not to mention my own character, an elven rogue with a bit of chip on his shoulders. So I don’t know if the future is looking that bright for Ferelden. But hey, I’m gonna do my best!

~ by metafur on February 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
